New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Never used a finger release, and was thinking about getting one. I've been using a Tru-Fire wrist strap for the last 10 years. Looking to get some feedback from people that have used both. Also, I know my anchor points shouldn't change, but do you think I would have to make adjustments to my sight. Thanks guys.

·
Registered
1,012 Posts
You will never look back ounce you get use to it !
The finger release is much more sensitive , I feel I'm much more accurate then the wrist release.
You shouldn't have to move the sight at all .

·
Registered
1,366 Posts
Thumb release for me - never went back to a wrist after. Stays on my bow - don't have to hook in - just grab it and pull back.

·
Registered
1,743 Posts
I made the switch this year. And as other had said I will never go back go a wrist strap. I did have to move my peep though and some people have to lengthen their draw if their release is that much shorter. I only had to move my peep about half in inch and then sight in. I was shooting the truffle hardcore and now use the trufire four finger. After this season I might try out a carter as they say they are among the best out there. The one thing I do like about the trufire is the floating head. It Took me about a month to get used to the thumb style release but once I did my groups much more consistent and I no longer shoot at the same spot twice because although I enjoy refleching I don't want to do it every day. Me personlly I would not switch now. I would wait I until after the season. I made the switch during turkey season and called in a really nice Tom and drew back on him and my arrow hit two feet in front bc I hit the thumb release in the excitement while drawing back. I had only been using it for a week at that time. Just give your self a chance to let it become second nature and during the seasons that is a tough thing to do. Best of luck

·
Registered
1,432 Posts