New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Banned
5,494 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What grain should i shoot for my 30-06. From what i have been reading. I think 150 grain would be good for deer. But i'm new to rifles so i could be wrong.

·
Banned
8,011 Posts
180gr..... I used that in a 1917 Springfield bolt-action WWI U.S ARMY .30-06, Took a deer 300 yards open sights.... You can drop a Elk with that round...

·
Registered
2,069 Posts
180 Rem Core Loc in my Rem 7400 30-06 have always been my choice ...but also depends on the terrain and the shot distance your trying to shoot...if you want distance and a flst trajectory try a 160 grain boat tail bullet..good hunting

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
What are you planning on shooting? And what type of gun is your '06? How many inch barrel?

·
Registered
1,914 Posts
my 30-06 shoots great out to 200 yards with, 230 gr. remington cor lock, or 220 gr. cant think of the actual weight for some reason. but, i like the heaviest thing i can throw at a deer, if i could shoot boulders at them i would. maybe i need a catapult? for some reason i dont think corzine would approve of that

·
Registered
1,133 Posts