New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
971 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As some of you may have read in my previous posts, although I have hunted for many years (Hunter Safety Course in New York 1961), I'm new to New Jersey and plan on hunting zone 18 next year for the first time. I have been out a few times just to look around in Colliers Mills WMA and found the area to be mostly Pine with a sandy soil. My experience has been in hardwood forests boarding on farm crops with some pine areas. I have always located feeding and bedding areas then set my stand in between. With all the pine in this area - what the heck do deer eat? In looking in Colliers Mills I only found one very small area of oak trees. In following deer runs I find them just weaving through the pines. So again, what the heck do they eat??[confused]

·
Registered
10,211 Posts
Mate Mike I've hunted south Jersey for a good many years. They will eat the same stuff as in the north! white oak acorns and the reds too. There are also persimons, mushrooms and a host of other plants. But you can't go wrong if you find the oaks!! I don't hunt in Colliers mills but if the have any fields you may want to check them out as well for early bow it may be good. I know they stock birds there so staying in the wood may prove best.

Good luck..

·
Registered
5,435 Posts
Matt's Uncle Frank gets big bucks down there every year. He said the deer have smaller bodies in South Jersey compared to the deer in North Jersey. He told me they feed on Scrub Oak acorns and lots of moss. You also have Huneysuckle in South Jersey. Find where that is and you will find the deer. Huneysuckle is like Ice Cream to a deer.

·
Registered
10,427 Posts
Mike, the obvious...CORN PILES!!! :D

Honestly, since everyone is baiting and there is a complete lack of forage for the most part, corn is hit pretty hard and there are a ton of bait piles going throughout the Mill.