New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know not all Compound Bow deals come ready-to-hunt, but Dick's is selling this one that is. I assume I'll have to get it fitted to my pull weight, sight level, etc.?

I have an athletic build at 6'2", 200lbs, so what do you think I should look for in poundage?

I'm new to this so if you have the time also, can you please explain some basics for me?

Thank you!

- Mike

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Stay away from Dick's and go to a pro shop, on here, Archery Talk or Craig's List for a complete set-up once you know your draw length and have test shot some bows.

Dick's people aren't qualified to be selling complete set-ups or giving advice. STAY AWAY from them for that.

Good luck.
Okay thanks for the advice. I just feel like pro shops are going to be way over priced.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Pro shop or craigslist eBay etc... Dicks stuff is mostly junk and I understand money is a factor. Just think I have a Mathews before they even had a dampener system in them which means it's old and still shoots great. Pretty much saying it's not a purchase but an investment

·
Registered
5,410 Posts
Dicks sold my buddy a "package" including a 60# bow, with no peep sight and 40# fiberglass arrows. Would have put an arrow through his arm! I wouldn't even test it for him (as he wondered why he couldn't hit a bullseye from 10 yards away. We returned it and went to a pro-shop where he got an awesome end of season sale on a package...with a proper fitting, peep sight and the right arrows. He was shooting bullseyes up to 35 yards right out of the shop. Trust what everyone is telling you; go to a pro shop. BTW- they WANT your return business. They know if they set you up right now, you'll be back for an upgrade or new bow later on!!

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #10