New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Im a rookie hunter from essex county. Recently took hunters ed course, got my firearms id, and got my first shotgun. Im interested in upland bird hunting this coming fall in our fine state and was hoping you guys could give me some tips and pointers.

Things like which WMA's you would recommend, which WMA's to avoid, good time of day to hunt, strategies, etc. And any general advice would be greatly appreciated as I am pretty new to all this.

I dont have a hunting dog (except for a dachshund at home :D) so ill be hunting solo. In the mean time im going to try to shoot alot of trap and skeet over the summer.

Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
13,237 Posts
Wear an orange vest and hat...if you hear other people through thick brush make your presence known. I also have no dog I try and meet up witha couple other guys and basically drive fields. It gets worse and worse every year in my opinion. A couple years ago I saw someone get shot in the face I think the guy lost an eye. This last year I saw a bird coming down to face level and a guy shoulderin his weapon and im screaming HOLD YOUR FIRE and the moron shoots anyway and almost shot someone. Just be careful and avoid saturdays..dont shoot birds on the ground unless your sure there is nobody elses dog around.

·
Registered
5,410 Posts
Word of Advice...DON'T be like one of those rookie guys from Essex County!!![eyeroll] (Hey, I live at the shore...anyone NE of Perth Amboy is a BENNY to me!:D)

I don't know why, but IMO the closer they are to NY, the more they seem to be weekend warriors thinking they're the next great outdoorsman(thus what the previous guys wrote about near death weekends!) It's rude and dangerous! Respect the sport and you'll get a lot more out of it.