New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14,010 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This occurred on the private property I hunt on in Frelinghuysen on the 1st day of muzzleloader.

During the extended bow season one of the other guys that hunts the property noticed a ladder stand set up about 100 feet from his tree stand. He thought I put it there, but he knew I know where his stands area, so he was confused. Well on opening day of muzzleloader he sees a flashlight heading towards this ladder stand. He decides to get out of his stand and find out if it was me.

Well he gets to the ladder stand and the guy never even shines his flashlight to alert my buddy where he was. My buddy shines his light up the ladder stand and asks the guy "whose property are you hunting on?" The guys responds with "whose property are you hunting on?" My buddy responds with "I have been hunting this property for 18 years and I have never seen you." The guys response was, "I have exclusive rights to hunt this property and you are trespassing." My buddy says, "my father has known the property over since he was 10 and that is well over 50 years. I am not trespassing you are.? The guy told him to "F" off. My buddy said he was going to get the lease holder. The said go ahead.

My buddy gets the lease holder and drives over to the stand. Once again the guy in the stand never alerted them to his where abouts when the walked in. The lease holder asked him who he was and he reponsed that he had exclusive rights along with a Paterson police officer and that the lease holder was trespassing. Again he was corrected about who was trespassing and he told the lease holder to "F" off 15 times. The lease holder, actually property, told him that he was going to call the state police. At this time the guy in the tree stand is very confontational. The property manager and my buddy left at his time.