New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
6,890 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone hunting there. Oh wait, let me re-phrase that, is anyone from this site huting there...I already know about 2000 people are hunting it.

I've been hunting there for several years, but started hunting it more frequently this year. I've been seeing some sign, but not much in the way of deer, so I've been doing some scouting the past month during midday hours. I've only covered about 1/4 of the total land area, and I've found 67 stands in the trees. No lie, I have never seen such hunting pressure. No wonder I can't find a deer in the daylight.

·
Registered
12,261 Posts
Good luck,won't find me there now.I've been down there a few times over the last couple years and scouted some of the new property that was added on.
Too many guys for me.Wish I had a decent farm to lease.Oops,I forgot,we do lease a farm,but hunting down there isn't probably any better than T Gut! [down]

·
Registered
289 Posts
I used to hunt there all the time. Off spillway is where I spent most of my time. I got a couple of nice does(110-120 lbs.) The deer are there their patterns constantly change with each season. There are good size deer there and are plentiful. Good Luck[up]

·
Registered
6,890 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Iron, that area around the lake is loaded with stands. I don't have any trouble finding deer sign, problem is there are stands EVERYWHERE, and I mean EVERYWHERE. Seriously, I've hunted WMA's in Salem and Cumberland county for 25 years and never seen pressure like that. Just wondered if any of those stands belonged to anyone here.

·
Registered
289 Posts
I haven't been there for two years, I always hunted off to the right of the next tower. About a hundred or so yds. in the thicker area, and also in that oak grove just past there. They usually travel along the streams on both sides of the power lines.
Good luck[up]

·
Registered
1,540 Posts