i am new to site,looks great.
replying to march posting by icuhunt.
many tales to tell about the meadows.
i hunted no. bergen + seacaucus from mid 70's
to early 90's.

·
Registered
13,448 Posts
All the towns in the Meadowlands area have a "NO DISCHARGE OF FIREARMS ORDINANCES". You will get locked up if you hunt there.

·
Registered
2,267 Posts
Last year my buddy got checked by a state CO while duck hunting on the Passaic river in East Hanover.The CO gave him info where to dock his boat in Seacaucus to duck hunt.He ended up going and had a good hunt.The CO also told him that people from all over the state go there to hunt.You can see duck blinds while driving down the turnpike.

·
Registered
6,136 Posts
ms22...i saw that show on oln...you can see buildings and a highway in the far distance..whenever i go dirtbiking in the meadowlands i see plenty of pheasants...the ones on the edge of the feilds flush whenever i ride my dirt bike there...

·
Registered
1,518 Posts
I grew up in North Bergen, and did plenty of duck, pheasant,and rabbit hunting from the early 70's until the mid 80's. I shot some real nice native birds with tails up to 24 inches. We always did well with rabbits and ducks too. I knew most of the cops and hunted with a few of them, so I never really worried about a no discharge ordinance. I don't think I would go now, it has built up too much.

·
Registered
14,010 Posts
I don't know if I would eat them. But I would love to find some native birds in Jersey to hunt.

·
Registered
577 Posts
I forgot about this post. Good to see some other people on this site enjoyed the great small game hunting in the meadowlands back then. I stopped hunting the meadows around the mid 80's as well.