New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
3,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While I am new to this sport, I am not without opinion on the future in our Garden State. However, being relativly(sp) new, I am not familiar with the term "slob hunter" that I read in some posts. Would this be considered an unethical or uneducated, sloppy hunter?

·
Registered
5,833 Posts
Uneducated--you're new. Everyone has to learn. Hunting courtesy and safety is 100% common sense. Obey posted land, keep your muzzle in a safe direction, be sure of your target, etc.

Slobs are folks who ignore the common sense/common courtesy. Tresspass, litter, sit in or steal your stand, set up right next to you, road hunt, jacklight, exceed the bag limit, etc.

They're the 1% that hurts all of us.

·
Registered
3,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I understand. I ran into a fella/hunter down in Salem my first year deer hunting last year drinking beer in the dead end that lead to the farm the club leased. He accused me of tresspassing. He asked me for my club ID, which I had. I asked him for his which he didn't have. I said, "How do I know you're not tresspassing". After a short heated discussion he headed off into the woods with a can in beer in his back pocket. Phone calls to the club manager didn't get returned for two weeks. Although, I figured out a way to get my phone calls returned faster. Leave a message that you have a new member with cash and he wants to join today. You'll get a return call back within the hour. Needless to say I'm no longer with that club.

·
Registered
3,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The very same, lefty. How do you handle these folks when you run into them. I didn't want to get into a fist fight with this guy, my oldest son was with me. How do you deal with these guys that want to do, what they want to do, and F it up for someone else?

·
Registered
1,133 Posts