New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting started reloading and noticed different manuals have drastically different starting and max loads for the same powder bullet combos. Looking at the lever action 45/70 loads (not trapdoor or ruger)some books starting loads are hotter then others max loads. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

·
Registered
8,011 Posts
Looking at the lever action 45/70 loads (not trapdoor or ruger)some books starting loads are hotter then others max loads. Anyone have any thoughts on this?
I'm kind of surprised at that, what manuals are you looking at? Try a reliable source like Nosler and you shouldn't have any problems

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have the Lee modern reloading and one of the books from cabelas thats just 45-70 data. Also looking at the hodgdon data online they all seem to be all over the place.

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
You will find differences, some reasons may be type of rifle used to test the loads, other reasons is manufactures just want to be safe so they state a little lower, If you really wanna see some differences look at older reloading manuals. I have books from 15 years ago with much hotter loads then whats being produced in todays manuals

Just remember to start below the max load, and work your way up. look for signs of excessive pressure as you increase you powder amounts.

·
Registered
5,050 Posts