New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,496 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I shot a deer wit the inline this year but i would really love to get one with the old hawken...i took it to the range yesterday and shot it..at 50 yards it is way off..at 30 yards its dead on...patch and round ball shot terrible but buffalo bullets were ok...i have a peep sight on and and tried adjustng it accordingly but it still wasnt shooting very accurate...any ideas???

max

·
Registered
2,787 Posts
Did you take a good look at the patch after you shot. It could tell you a lot

·
Registered
2,496 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
El Jefe wold you mind explaining a little more..im fairly new to the whole muzzleloader thing..

·
Registered
2,787 Posts
Look at the patch and see if its burn all around, maybe you are not getting complete powder burn. See if the grove markings are uniformely all around the patch. Try different charges (grams) are the balls going down real easy with the patch. Try different things and keep a record of what you did on every shot.
I'm sure there are more experience guys on her that could help you out.

·
Registered
2,496 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you very much EL Jefe..ill make sure i make note of that next time i hit the range..

max

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
Keep records: This is invaluable to what your doing.

Mark your ramrod: Each load will be different. 80 gr. to 100gr. different depth. Make sure to mark.

Cool and clean your bore: All metal expands and contracts with heat. Start with a clean bore shoot three rounds, clean and repeat.

Try different powders: They all burn different.

·
Registered
2,496 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Wildwork...thank you for the info..out of curiosity have you had better luck with patch and round ball or buffalo bullets out of the hawken?

thanks max

·
Registered
2,380 Posts