New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started shooting my brand new PSE bruin today and i love it... I sited in my pins for 10,15,and 20 yards. Is this a good calibration for my bow? Im shooting good groupings at 20 yards...BTW during the archery field course test, how far are the targets?

Here a pic at 20 yards

~20 yards 2 arrows

·
Registered
1,100 Posts
I believe that the target is 10 to 20 yards and you need 3 of 5 arrows in the kill zone...nothing to worry about...keep on practicing!

·
Registered
6,056 Posts
I sited in my pins for 10,15,and 20 yards. Is this a good calibration for my bow? Im shooting good groupings at 20 yards...BTW during the archery field course test, how far are the targets?
Yes. I set my pins at 10, 20, and 30.

If you shoot well out to 20 yards you should be ok for the field test.

When I took the test, you had the option of shooting between 10 and 20 yards.

I believe I 'loosed' three arrows - two in the vitals.

The field test is to see if you can draw properly as well as getting one in the vitals. They want to see if you can handle 'your bow'.

Depending on who gives the test, you may get tips or advice to improve your shooting.

Good luck and good hunting!

·
Registered
7,954 Posts
Mike,

Here's what I would do:

1) I shoot groups of 5 arrows at the target. This will give you a feel of how you really are shooting.

2) When shooting, try to aim at a very specific spot on your target. I'd shoot at the top tip of the triangle.
3) Shoot a few sets of arrows to warm up. Then, shoot your 1st actual round. Depending on how this grouping looks, change you pins accordingly. Then shoot like 2-3 more rounds. Adjust again.
4) Unless I'm just beginning the sight-in process, I don't like to make more than 2 adjustments in 1 day.

Most people will say that at 20 yds you should be able to reliably shoot 2-3" groupings.

Good luck,
David

·
Registered
2,574 Posts