New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,992 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Most of you don't know that I'm an Bonsai Artist. This is a picture of my 120+ year old wisteria bonsai. I've always found that when the flowers open is the best time to turkey hunt. I had to take some pics for a publication so I thought I would share.

·
Registered
244 Posts
Nice Bonsai.

I used to spend a lot of time in the Bonsai collection at the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens when I was much younger. Even tried it myself a couple of times, but no luck. It's nice to that the art is still around.

Ken

·
Registered
2,992 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
where do you get a plant that old
The tree was dug up in an old estate in Princeton 10 yrs ago and I've been training it for bonsai since then.

I used to spend a lot of time in the Bonsai collection at the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens
I've work on most of the trees in the botanical gardens a good friend of mine was the curator for 10 yrs

·
Registered
7,397 Posts
Give a quick overview of what it means to train the tree for bonsai?

I know nothing about it but it seems interesting.

·
Registered
2,992 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Give a quick overview of what it means to train the tree for bonsai?
Once you start to develop a tree for bonsai you need to get branches in the right spot ussually by wraping annealled copper wire around the branch and bending it where you want Bonsai is basically sculpture that is living. you try and develop a tree you would see in nature only in miniture form.

·
Registered
7,397 Posts
you try and develop a tree you would see in nature only in miniture form.
Is the actual "thing" that is dug up (for example the one pictured above) actually a tree? Or is it part of something else (like a bush) that is replanted and sculpted to look like a tree?

I guess what im asking is....What did that thing look like when it was dug up in Princeton 10 years ago?

·
Registered
2,992 Posts