New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Slept in. Checked out the river yesterday and decided that it wasn't with the wear and tear on the boat and jet pump for a few woodies or dock ducks. I'll wait til the days are colder, the river is higher, and the traveling birds are in town.

·
Registered
5,410 Posts
Could not get out this morning, but was real surprised when the missus asked if I was going hunting at all. The 8 year old has been patiently waiting for weeks to do any kind of hunting and somehow he remembered (from three weeks ago) today was opening duck day! I'm new to ducks and at 1:00, was not really ready to just pick up and go. With a high energy kid, sitting for a few hours is not in the cards, so I figured he would get a kick out of a jumpshoot. About 5:00 I'm at Assunpink and find decent shoreline coverage with a small bunch of birds heading towards our spot. The little one is stealthily glassing the water and sky whispering super secret report of stumps that look like Minecraft characters[hihi]; the dog is sitting patiently and I'm like "Yeah this is gonna happen!":bounce: