New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I was just wondering on the current laws of using a range in NJ

Im currently a NYC resident, Staten Island.

I recently went on a trip to FL and went to a range out there ( First time shooting ) all you needed was a driver license and to sign a waiver.

Do I need a permit or anything to use / rent a gun at a range out in NJ?

Im not looking to buy a firearm just go to a range occasionaly. And dont feel like going through the NYC Permit BS just to use a range out here once and a while Not to mention the $400 application

·
Registered
14,824 Posts
Public ranges at WMA's require you to have a valid NJ hunting license.

Privately owned ranges vary but nothing is required other than what they require (fees). No NJ permit of any kind required.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Haha, were not hicks no more all the brooklyn-ites all moved here and now its just a disaster of a island. Also

But yea the laws here are so crazy here pretty much any gun store / range dont even want to talk to you unless you have permit in hand.

BTW shoreshot doesnt look to far at all maybe i will try to check it out

·
Registered
2,640 Posts
all the brooklyn-ites all moved here
Most of my old Brooklyn friends skipped SI and moved into central NJ. Guess it's still a short drive back to mom's kitchen.;) Shore Shot will probably be one-stop shopping for you. Good luck and welcome to the website.

·
Registered
4,710 Posts
A hunting license does not allow you to shoot at a range. A hunting license only allows you to hunt, not target shoot. Maybe WMA's have a special access rule, but most public ranges have been shut down or are heading in that direction due to cut backs and the EPA and lead issues.