New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there all, thought I would introduce myself and ask some questions!

I am a happily married mom of three, interested in learning to hunt. I am also a disabled vet, and as I understand it that means I get a break on permits and things, which is nice 'cause they are expensive in NJ.

I am a terrible shot (ex-officer) on the 9mm they "taught" me on, and haven't gone to a range in 4 or so years. So I suspect my first step in learning how to hunt is figuring out what to hunt with and then becoming proficient at it through target practice.

I live in northern Monmouth County, and work twice a week in Warren County, pretty close to the Pequest DF&W place.

So where do I start? Are there any women on this forum? How does one get into hunting as an adult? There is no hunting culture in my family!

Thanks and happy new year all!

·
Registered
511 Posts
Hello and welcome to NJH , You can start by going online at NJfishandwildlife.com and click on hunter education program all the info is there to take the NJ hunters education course and sign up ASAP .If you want to hunt this fall .You may want to start out with a 20 gauge shotgun .I hope my info helped you ? Good luck . ;):p

·
Registered
3,034 Posts
First off, thank you for your service and welcome to the site.

You'll need to take a Hunter Education Course it's listed here on this link. http://www.njfishandwildlife.com/hunted.htm

And you are right... Vets with a "Service Connected Disability" can get theirs free. Link. http://www.njfishandwildlife.com/dvinfo.htm

With that I wouldn't worry to much on "there is no hunting culture in my family" because there are plenty of folks here and groups that can get you out there to help you accomplish your next adventure.

BTW, Happy New Year to you too.

·
Registered
2,177 Posts
Welcome
Thanks for your service...