New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm new to Somerset County (Hillsborough) and could use some advice on good locations to hunt and fish locally, whether it be private land where I ask for permission or public land that I'm not standing shoulder to shoulder with other hunters/fishermen. I hunt deer and turkey and plan on going for waterfowl, small game and upland birds this upcoming season.

Also, any other information for a newbie hunter (3 years) would be more than welcome, especially for the waterfowl, small game and upland birding. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,448 Posts
Not many public opportunities around Hillsborough. There are some municipal hunt opportunities. All the private land is locked up by clubs. There is 6 mile run in Franklin but that from what I hear gets crazy. I have never hunted there. As far as fishing goes you have spots all around you. The South Branch down thru Three Bridges is good for trout and smallmouth later in the year. You also have the Millstone and Raritan Rivers that border the north and east sides of town. For Catfish and Bass there is a small pond that produces in Ann VanMiddlesworth Park off Amwell Road by the high school.

·
Registered
156 Posts
Hillsborough Township has a hunting program. It's via a lottery, $75.00 permit fee which is used for the venison donation program, insurance is needed but the NJSFS insurance is fine. Application will be available on their web site or the administration office the middle of June early July.

·
Registered
1,340 Posts