New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! I just completed my archery and firearms education course this year and purchased the necessary documents for archery hunting, but have yet to purchase the documents for firearm hunting. In any case, I'm from Jersey City and am aware that Zone 36 is worthless as far as deer hunting goes. I'm looking for public hunting land close to home, preferably less than an hour's drive, for deer hunting. I've taken trips down to Allamuchy, Clinton, Ringwood, Wawayanda, and Ramapo. With the exception of Clinton, most of them looked more like places for people to go hiking, rather than areas to hunt. The issue with Clinton is that it's a little too far from where I live and, from what I've heard, it gets a good deal of pressure throughout the season. Any area that is less than an hour away from Jersey City and has more deer than hunters would be great. Also, since I'm a complete novice, any general hunting advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a million guys!

·
Registered
5,456 Posts