New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Fellaz,

Mark from NY here, can you help me decipher NJ hunting rules and regulations I'm reading for a second day and I'm still confused. Say, where is the state land closet to NY border, license fees for out of state people and most importantly the unlimited does permits in region like 36.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,170 Posts
1. Upstate NY border? That would be Ringwood State Park.
You also have Hewitt State Forest, Wawayanda State Park and High Point State Park along the border.
2. Licenses for bow=$135.50, Firearm = $135.50. All other permits are the same for res/non-res.
3. Permits are $28. You buy either a doe or buck permit or both.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks Fellaz,

OK, is there something I should know about zone 36? Again, I'm new to NJ hunt so any advice is appreciated.
Thanks flat, yes upstate NY border, are these regions crowded or OK to hunt, also I guess I should wait with Jan permit then since you guys have a calendar year and not a season. How long is the Bow season? When does it end?

·
Registered
4,886 Posts
zone 36 has no public land for deer in it. Licenses start Jan. 1 and ends Dec. 31. Bow season "starts" Jan 1 with winter bow, and the length depends on the zone. Then early bow in Sept. for some parts of the state, with the whole state starting around Oct. 1. Permit is the month of November, again for most of the state. Best bet is to find out what zone you plan on hunting, then learn the regs for that zone, instead of trying to decipher the whole state.

·
Registered
2,114 Posts
very little open land in zone 36 almost no puplic land good luck. why would you want unlimited doe? how many can you eat? winter bow opens jan 1

·
Registered
2,170 Posts
Winter bow goes til Feb 18th.
Permit shotgun goes 1/7 to 2/11
Permit muzzleloader goes Jan. 1 to 2/11.