New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Banned
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure if this is the appropriate place for the post, but I was looking for recommendations on muzzleloaders to hunt deer. I have a Remington 11-87 with a rifled cantilever barrel and a smoothbore, and I was looking to expand my firearm season into muzzleloader.

I've been hunting and shooting in NJ for over 10 years and thought now would be a good time to foray into black powder.

·
Banned
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Any particular models better than others? Thomson/Center Arms seems to be advertised all over the place and the muzzleloaders they sell are relatively inexpensive.

·
Registered
9,747 Posts
Prohunter

·
Registered
637 Posts
Geez guys ... no recommendations for REAL black powder?

How about a nice Armi-Sport 1861 Springfield .... still get rifed barrel and adjustable sites and at .58 cal packs a heck of a wallop. Thousands of dead civil war soldiers wish it was used for deer hunting instead.

How about a nice flintlock British smoothbore? No rifed barrel but at .69 cal .... get in a little closer and it will drop on the spot.

Heck ... if you insist on T/C ... how about a good old standard Hawkin?

I admit I took my CVI Hunterbolt out on the first day but after the it has been the Lyman sidelock.

Look them all over ... black powder is varied and up to personal tastes and styles .... modern or old school .... they are all fun .... and addictive.

Have fun .... most important.

·
Banned
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I'll probably stick with a modern to start, something affordable to get me into the game and easy to maintain. Once I get the hang of it I'll probably look to expand.

·
Banned
315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Oh, and one other thing: I was wondering if I could take my NJ FID card into PA and buy the gun at Cabela's (since we won't have one in NJ anytime soon) and register (if I absolutely have to) it when I return.