New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
818 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last few times I was out I noticed deer using another route about 60 yards from where I was set up. I decided to buy a climber and set up closer to them.
Now I know I should have practiced with it as I never used a climber before, just loc-ons and ladders but I just didn't have the time. Well I underestimated what it was going to take to use this setup. I was loud, set up later than I wanted, and worked up a sweat doing it. Hopefully its just the morning I killed. This is my only chance to sit for 3 weeks. I'm leaving for a trip to AZ on Wed morning.

·
Registered
818 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's what I'm hoping. This is my first year with a bow so I've never hunted during the rut. On the plus side this climber is the most comfortable stand I've ever sat in. It's gonna make this long day real easy, I'll have to watch I don't fall asleep.

·
Registered
2,506 Posts
good luck and you will see something hopefully

·
Registered
7,946 Posts
After a few times it'll b second nature. You will develop a system and a routine and keep perfecting it. After 19 years of using a climber I have my system down to a science and love being able to be mobile.

·
Registered
3,427 Posts
Been using climbers for about 25 yes now..my first was an amocker, first co to sell one I think...anyway my best tip is to leave the two pieces strapped together and attach platform to tree.. Use your thigh to hold in place while you do cable.then unstrap seat and put up. Do reverse when lleaving. Lot less clanking that way

·
Registered
1,258 Posts
My first climber was also an Amacker*Dinosaur compared to my Summit Viper I have had for several years now*Loved the Amacker hang on stands and used them also for many years*

·
Registered
818 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
What climber are you in