New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for a partner our group to join me on a DIY Idaho Archery Elk Hunt. Bow Season is 8/31 to 9/30.

I am new to Elk Hunting, and will be learning as I go, but I have spent some time in the area of Idaho that I plan to hunt. To give you a general sense of cost, I have priced things out as follows:

Elk Tag/Licenses - $600
Airfare - $400
Car - $300
Gear & Provisions - TBD

In the way of very general background: I am 40, married, and have 2 kids.

Please let me know if you have any interest. Apologies if I posted this in the wrong place.

Kevin

·
Banned
3,127 Posts
Partners are for dancin...lol j/k. Sounds like a lot of fun hope you can find some folks.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
With or with-out guide. Public or private land.
I am open to ideas, but my thinking was to do a DIY (i.e. no guide) hunt on public land. I have also spoken to a drop camp guide who would take you us in on horseback, provide a camp and food, and pack out the animal for $2,200.

·
Registered
14,640 Posts
Have you looked into current Elk populations in the area you plan on hunting?
A friend of mine recently went on a Mt. Lion hunt in Idaho and the Wolves have really thinned the herds.

You should contact the DNR and ask some questions before deciding on any certain area...Jus Say'n

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
Definitely check on the local wolf populations in the area(s) you are planning to hunt. The elk population has taken a big hit from wolf predation in some units. Also some of the most northern units have grizzlies to account for. No need to be overly concerned, just be prepared. I know of a reputable outfitter in northern Idaho that can set you up with a nice drop camp if you are up for it. Good luck with your adventure. PM me and I'll get you the info..

·
Registered
1,123 Posts