New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
568 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I was wondering if you guys had any advice on how to get started with a bow. I'm a student and on a meager budget so should I try and find some used gear to learn to shoot with and then save up for a big $$ purchase? I don't really know anyone who shoots a bow either, so how would I learn technique and stuff? Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Jim

·
Registered
14,010 Posts
Jex, I may have a bow for you. There are quite a few archers on here, I sure you can find some help.

·
Registered
9,928 Posts
Jex, going cheap at first is ok, but dont skimp too much on quality and especially on the accessories. Good accessories can make or break a good shooting bow. (A good arrow rest and quality arrows, are probably most important)

First and foremost though, make sure you have a qualified pro-shop size you up. A bow NEEDS to fit you perfectly for you to shoot to your best ability. Many archers err on the long side, which leads to many problems down the road. Many also shoot too much draw weight, that causes more probelems. So make sure you get started out on the right foot, and you will become a better archer faster than if you just try to jump into the game with ill fitted equipment. Otherwise you may spend years trying to break bad habits.

If you are near Lk. Hopatcong, you could stop into East Link Bait & Tackle. I'd help set you up with the correct size draw length and weight. If you're not near here, heres a chart to help you get close to the correct draw length.

Standing with your arms outstreched to the sides, but not over extended, have someone measure from middle fingertip to middle fingertip.

wingspan measurement = draw length:

68" = 26.5" draw
69" = 27" draw
70" = 27.5" draw
71" = 28" draw
72" = 28.5" draw
...(so on, and so forth)