New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
791 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm out today checking out some public land and every time I get to a corner or a place to setup, someone has left their hang on stand with climbing sticks chained to the trees. I always respect others belongings and have no problem with people "claiming a tree" , but then I thought why not hunt out of these stands if no one is hunting them on public land? I've never done it before but it would sure beat lugging in my climber then looking for a new tree.

What say you?

·
Registered
11,803 Posts
I say if it's not yours, unless you have specific permission from the owner, then don't touch it !!!

·
Registered
16,173 Posts
I wouldn't trust anyone else"s stuff. Bring your climber. In my opinion fixed stands shouldn't be allowed on WMA's. It's not their tree or spot. I went to set up on a tree I've been on before only to find a cheap lock-on 2 trees away, with no one in it[mad] Am I supposed to guess when they will be there? I've been hunt these woods and specific trees for more than 2 decades and now there's a person hunting just about every tree I've established as "worth hunting from".[wallmad]

·
Registered
6,890 Posts
I always assumed that other people were hunting from my stands left on WMA's, and I sometimes saw evidence they were. Happens on private ground too.

I don't hunt from other stands, but if I moved everytime someone else set up near me, I'd spend all my time moving to other spots and not much time hunting. The woods are very crowded, and it's only getting worse. But hey, that's what they wanted and we were all told how great that would be for the sport of bowhunting. [eyeroll]

·
Registered
5,898 Posts