New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts
B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been hunting zone 4 for about 9 years or so. I've taken my share of deer and took one bear. I have seen some nice bucks during all the seasons, shotgun season it could get crowed with hunters, and on opening day of bird there are alot of small gamers, but the do push the deer. There is alot of spots for the deer to hide, and if not pushed could put in for a long day. Oh and trying to get Drag to hunt here with me and my friends is like pullling teeth.

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Kris, I know that area well. I can show you spots, and then you choose. I did and still have an area for you for shotgun season

·
Registered
10,462 Posts
I have been hunting zone 4 on and off since the 1960's mostly in the Walpack area. I also hunt near Paquary Flats.

Zone 4 is notorious for small bucks because there has historically been a lot of hunting pressure especially during shotgun season. That is beginning to change because there seems to be fewer hunters afield is the last ten years. I have yet to take a bragging buck in this zone, but rub activity tells me there are some decent bucks. Also since there is so much huntable land there are pleny of places for the bucks to go that are never visited by a hunter. For example the top of Kittitiny Mountain.

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
zone 4 still has small bucks, maybe just maybe you may see a nice buck once in a while

·
Registered
4,847 Posts
hey joe my cousin shot a real nice 8 during last years shotgun season right off the fire road where we used to hunt with al.

·
Registered
1,097 Posts