New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
9,928 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This post isnt directed at anyone in particular, this is directed to the hunting community as a whole. Im not a "professional hunter" and I dont have degrees in fields related to this topic. This is simply my opinion on matters I feel passionate about. If you disagree with them, please do so in a civil manner. I dont want to cause problems on a website filled with many friends.:)

Hunter, or Steward of the woods and wildlife?

As I sit here writing this, I have to wonder if you can be both a hunter and steward of the land? To me it seems as though you can't. I've always considered myself a "hunter" out to commune with nature and attempting to harvest some meat for the freezer. Ive been bowhunting for fifteen years now but I didn't always consider the impact I had on the very nature I was enjoying. It wasnt until a few short years ago, that I realized my role in the woods is much more important than "hunter". Im a caretaker of the woods, waters, and wildlife that live there. A steward of the land. Everything I do and every decision I make has an impact on nature.

From the small sapling I cut for a shooting lane, to the deer I choose to harvest. It all impacts the woods and wildlife in some way. I think of my
actions in the woods as stones tossed into a pond. I want most of my actions to cause the smallest ripple possible, I dont want to cause a major splash.
Unless of course that "splash" is needed. Like when there is an abundance of one species or sex of an animal or plant. It can be necessary to cause
bigger "ripples".

It seems as though to be accepted as a hunter now a days though, you have to be willing to accept whatever anyone else chooses to do, whether it be good for the woods & wildlife or not. Speaking your mind about the size of the animal, or the decision to take more than your share of one sex is taboo.