New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First off I just want to welcome myself; new on this site.
I live in Burlington County and just applied for my FID and permit to purchase a handgun through the Red Lion State Police. Ive been an NJ resident for 14 years and I have no criminal history in my past whatsoever. I have however, seen a psychiatrist in high school because I had such difficulty staying attentive. I was tested for both ADD and ADHD but it turns out I did not have it. I now have a doctor who prescribes be adderall.
I am a student at Rutgers in Camden - I only take the medicine for school related purposes (as my doctor could vouch for me).

I've hesitated going through the painful process of applying in fear that my mental health background would be a huge issue, but I decided to give it a shot. I just submitted my paperwork and fingerprints yesterday (5/16) so Im hoping to hear back sometime after summer. My dad (who I live with) has been through this process 3 times in the last 2 years and has been approved for 3 handgun permits. Meaning we have 3 handguns in our house; is this good news for me or does it not matter at all?

I did not talk to my doctor before applying so all Im going to do is keep my fingers crossed and hope for the best. I'm sure a ton of people have been denied for their permits in similar situations so any stories/insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
12,710 Posts
If you disclosed on your app that you were taking medication you will be denied. If you did mot disclose it then you lied and if it ever comes up you will get a cell with Bubba.

I feel for you bro. If I had to go to Camden every day I would want a gun too. IMO though you should be off the meds before you are allowed a firearm. In the back of your mind I think you feel the same.

·
Registered
9,817 Posts
Is there a question that asks what medications you were on?