New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
anyone ever go here? I have a turkey permit for Zone 1 and went to check out the Hainsville WMA.

this is my first time turkey hunting.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
let me ask you another question Andy. While there did you see a lot of "remains" of deer? I was there 2 weeks ago and saw quite a few remains and something what looked like a wolf.

·
Registered
18,010 Posts
Shot some woodcock there this past season and a couple hen pheasants. Seen tracks in the road and one longbeard that made the tracks in the fall. Thick bush best know where your openings are in there when you hear one cause he aint bustin thorn to get to you.:p

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
a few weeks ago was the first time I was there. Waiting to see how the weekend plays out going to try to get over there again either Saturday and/or Sunday.

I pulled in right by the sign at the entrance and parked. I walked along to an open area then into the woods. Then cut over through the pine trees and ended up on the other end of the lake and then worked my way back.

It looked like across the road is also part of the WMA?

I am new to hunting, never hunted before, this is my first time out.

·
Registered
2,640 Posts
ended up on the other end of the lake and then worked my way back.
Sounds like you're east of Old Mine Rd., when you refer to the lake/pond near the ballfield maybe? I usually hunt on the west side of Old Mine Rd.(the road changes names at some point there), between the road and the Del. River. The only remains after 6-day shotgun and permit season I've seen were still walking and breathing. I'll probably head out there next week for some turkey hunting myself, work permitting.

Hard to clarify for you without knowing what road and where along it, don't want to misinform you. Try to get some maps from the F&G website to help you.