New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4,412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i figured i'd give fly fishing a try. i bought a kit and a few flies, and went fishing for a little while yesterday. i managed 2 hookups that i didn't land and had a great time anyway.

rather than buy a lot of the wrong flies that i'd be wasting my time with, can anyone recommend good flies to use for trout, this time of year?

thanks

·
Registered
1,750 Posts
The warmer and later in the year it gets the smaller the flies you have to use. I'm down to size 18 and 20 nymphs this time of the year. Make sure you use light line like 2lb flouro. Pheasant tails, princes, hares ears are usually go to flies for most people. If your fishing dry flies, it depends on where and what hatches are happening and hook size is once again very important. Good Luck

·
Banned
4,539 Posts
My go to dry fly is a 16 or 18 caddis...I'm not good with bugs and matching the hatch, but I find if there are trout eating drys the caddis will work most of the time.

·
Registered
5,898 Posts
i havent fly fished since i was like 20 i only dry fly fished up state on a feeder stream of the esopus this was native trout fishing and the three most used and caught lots of trout on them were light cahills march browns and green midges and i wasnt good at it and still caght pleanty of trout found sundown till dark to be the best fishing i never did get the hang of useing wet flys i think ill be trying to get back in to it next year maybe

·
Registered
10,427 Posts
I'd stick with nymphing to start...the basic nymphs mentioned above will get you fish consistently.

- Pheasant Tails (bead head and non-bead head)
- Plain and Gold Ribbed Hares Ears (bead head and non-bead head)
- Prince Nymphs (bead head and non-bead head)

Fish vertically in holes.

Drift as natural as possible.

Fish two nymphs at a time, one on the bottom and one up (emerging)...i.e. bead head for weight on the bottom, non-bead head up top.