New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am a right handed shooter and i was wondering if it made any difference if i fletched my arrows right hellical or left???? i know that may sound dumb but i want to buy the correct bitznburger jig and they aint cheep.

·
Registered
16,173 Posts
I'm new to all that self do stuff so I bought my Blitzenburg from my local pro shop, as he knows what I shoot and can assit in any answers. Also he knows I'll get my glue and fletching from him. I paid $10 more but then again I saved that on S&H and also gave the bussiness to the small guy . Remember he's the one who will be Putting on new cables, silencers, strings. Cutting your arrows and maybe checking in your deer. I prefer personal service over saving 10bucks. Ask you dealer.

·
Registered
9,928 Posts
For a compound it is personal preference, but when it comes to trad gear, RH archers should use a LH fletch, and LH archers should use a RH fletch. This helps spin the arrow away from the shelf of the bow.

Also, I assume you are using feathers. Vanes would be a no-no for shooting off the shelf of a long-bow.

Hope this helps---:)

·
Banned
8,011 Posts
Right wing is good because your heads wont come loose, most people use Left wing, either wing will work on any bow. I flech my own arrows and next year I'm getting right helical clamps for my fleching rig.

The main thing you have to do is make sure you have good fleching clearnes, so you may have to turn your arrow nock some. I use classic arrow nock with the little indecator on the side and line it up with the front end of my [no swearing please] feather, This gives me the best clearness.

·
Banned
8,011 Posts