New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, everyone! First of all, I apologize for any redundancies. I've been looking online at the laws and regulations, and even spoke to a firearms instructor. He wasn't positive about the answers I'm looking for.

For my birthday, my boyfriend is getting me a Mossberg 500. I have handled guns before, but I'm not an expert. We are getting a home soon, so I was nervous to be left alone and wanted a home defense weapon. I have been shooting in PA with his family, but it was always a handgun. Everyone I know that owns a gun in NJ primarily has bought a pistol or something and I've heard mixed answers as to how to lawfully possess a shotgun. Some say you only need an FID. Others insist I only need to voluntarily register it.

The gun belongs to someone in state, and I don't want to have it before I am legally allowed to. However, it's a personal sale. I am sending my application in for my FID, but is there anything else required for a shotgun? Every time I ask around, I can't get consistent answers and I don't want to ask the police department because I don't believe my township is probably very well versed in gun laws. I'm about to join NJ2AS for this reason. Anyway, anyone acquire a shotgun this way? Sorry again. I just need a straight answer.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Also I was told that since it holds 8 rounds, I need a plug kit so it is limited to 3 rounds. I was under the impression that this was a strictly hunting law situation. If I am not hunting with it, do I still need a plug kit?

I was told 26" overall length with an 18" barrel is considered legal. What about a pistol grip? Right now that's all it has. I'm looking at ATI adjustable stocks, so I'm changing it anyway. But for the time being, is a pistol grip illegal as well on this shotgun since its considered a breaching gun?

·
Registered
1,539 Posts