New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
765 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just curios. I clean mine with soap and water. I have been using bore butter, but that crap has caused me a slow burn when shooting at a buck a few seasons ago. I do remember the guy at the hunter safety course saying thats all he used. Just a light coat on a patch down the barrel.

·
Registered
15,556 Posts
tc bore cleaner for me. I have seen guys use everything from windex to wd 40. If you shoot blackhorn 209 powder you can use regular gun cleaning stuff.

·
Registered
414 Posts
I clean them with soap and water. Once cleaned, I use WD-40 to coat the entire gun and then swab it out until dry. Never had a missfire, hangfire or any rust and I have been doing it for over 20 years.

·
Registered
4,137 Posts
Bore-Butter is only good for lubing patches and conicals.

WD-40 is a water displacer, not designed to clean, lubricate or protect metals. Use a good synthetic gun oil to lube all your guns.

I clean my flintlocks with cool tap water, last thing I do is pour a little alcohol down the barrel to displace the water and dump, couple dry patches, lubed patch and I'm done.

I do use WD-40 but that is just to spray down the wet lock to get the water out, then a quick dry and a spray with Rem-Oil.

Takes me 15 to 20 minutes to clean the entire rifle.

·
Registered
210 Posts
i was told years ago that WD-40 is not good for gun bluing and should only be used to help remove water.

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
I use it on my shotgun as just a wipe down to get any water off of it. A friend of mine though uses WD40 and 3InOne to clean, 3 in one for lube and cleaning and WD40 to get any water off his guns. Been doing it for 10+ years and they all work fine.

·
Registered
2,237 Posts