New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
15,556 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just curious how many guys hunt based on previous seasons history versus this years hot sign. After bowhunting for 20 years I have noticed that often big bucks seem to end up on the same ridges, funnels, and acorn flats season after season year after year. I also have noticed that early season patterns also can be quite predictable but are entirely different than pre-rut and rut and post-rut activity. I have some spots I have been hunting for ten years or more and I know that in October I'm just about guaranteed to have a sighting of Mr. Big. What it comes down to is it worth it to hunt history or would you rather hunt fresh sign.

·
Registered
13,448 Posts
Yes. I have some property that I don't need to scout because I know where the deer will be. Ill go in soon and set a stand and can pretty much guarantee Ill have a deer in shooting range the first week of archery.

·
Registered
16,173 Posts
The deer stay pretty much regular unless the state clear cuts a spot, or like last year a poor acorn crop, or maybe the farmer plants or doesn't plant .

As far as a journal. I find it pretty easy to just write on my hunting calender and then save the months that pertain to my outings. [patcheye]

·
Premium Member
14,409 Posts
Food may shift from year to year but unless topography drasticly changes animal patterns as they relate to sun wind travel routes will not.
Most bucks will travel a ridge in the am scenting the up drafts coming to them.
Find a spot that funnels them during the rut when they are trolling (Traveling cross wind looking more for girls than OUT for danger)and you now have one of those "Magic" spots that seldom has a lot of sign except for one week or so in late Oct. or early Nov. and again sometimes right around Thanksgiving.

·
Registered
16,173 Posts