New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got my first turkey calling diaphragm anyone have any good advice or helpful tips on calling been watching some YouTube videos but figured it couldn't hurt to get more advice maybe there is something I don't know about or haven't thought to look up

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I figured as much I finally just took it out of my mouth was trying to work it my whole three hour ride home from the show tonight. Still trying to figure out how to lower my pitches a bit

·
Registered
5,456 Posts
I just started learning as well. Took a while to figure out the proper placement in the mouth and bringing up the air over your tongue from your diagram but I'm finally starting to get some good yelps. Practicing quite a bit.

·
Registered
9,711 Posts
once your used to having it make sounds , when in the car try and call to the songs on the radio. it wont take long till you can manipulate the call to any sound you want to make

·
Registered
2,438 Posts
insted of trying to sound like a turkey right off the bat, Try to use it like an instument and play a song you know with it, you will get the hang of hitting highs and lows that way. It sounds like funny advise but it worked for me.

·
Registered
140 Posts
nwtf has good sound bites that will give you an idea of what you want to sound like. As the others have said before it just takes lots of practice. When your friends, tell you they have heard enough, then you are just at the half way point of good practice. haha

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thank you guys for all the great advice my family and friends are gonna kill me! I can't wait to annoy them all![up]

·
Registered
1,037 Posts