New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's my first year hunting and I was wondering if I'm allowed to hunt in December with a bow. I don't have my firearms license. I've heard people say I can and others say I can't

·
Registered
5,478 Posts
as long as you have your extended bow permit and your zone allows it. the answer is easy to find if you take the time to look at your regulation set in the game compendium. just about any question you have can be found in the compendium. put one in your bathroom

·
Registered
3,015 Posts
You can hunt 6 day with a bow with your firearm license.
That's the important thing - you CANNOT hunt with a bow if you dont' have a firearms license next week (during 6-day). Even though you want to use bow, you need a firearms license as Daver said (or an All-Around-License which you say you do not have). So, don't go out next week.

This is on page 32 of the digest.

·
Registered
1,259 Posts
You can bowhunt during shotgun week as long as you have you extended bow permit for the zone you hunt and if you want to shoot a buck you need a buck stub. If you want to just hunt shotgun week with your bow you need archery and firearms licenses....you use the firearm license tags...what mazzgolf said is incorrect.

·
Registered
3,015 Posts
You can bowhunt during shotgun week as long as you have you extended bow permit for the zone you hunt and if you want to shoot a buck you need a buck stub. If you want to just hunt shotgun week with your bow you need archery and firearms licenses....you use the firearm license tags...what mazzgolf said is incorrect.
Yes, sorry - I forgot some regulation sets overlap 6-day (numbers 5, 6, 7, 8). As others said, we need to know what zone/reg set you are talking about - but really, just read the zone/regulation set information in the digest for your zone and it will answer your question.