New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. New hunter here and want to start shooting now and want to develop for fall bow next year. I want a good starter compound then can pull somewhere between #40-60. I no its an expensive game to get into but whatever ideas you guys have for me just let me know. Thanks NJH

·
Registered
855 Posts
Cheaper then dirt.com has bows for decent price and could find decent setup. Or I can see if I have a bow you can get started with, its bare for the most part just buy accessories and build it up.

·
Registered
10,949 Posts
Almost all new bows shoot great. Best to pick one up and see how it feels in your hand. As a beginner i would suggest something with a large valley. Depends on cash flow really but i think you can get a decent package around 400-500 dollars.

·
Registered
598 Posts
go to a good bow shop and shoot a bunch. You will find one that's right for you by feel.
I agree. You can get a thousand different answers here, but your best bet is a good archery shop. I wouldn't suggest a Cabelas or dicks either. Go to a place like targeteers that deal specifically in archery equipment and have an indoor range you can practice. Good luck!

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I agree. You can get a thousand different answers here, but your best bet is a good archery shop. I wouldn't suggest a Cabelas or dicks either. Go to a place like targeteers that deal specifically in archery equipment and have an indoor range you can practice. Good luck!
Went to targeteers saturday. They are good. I am gonna go back soon to see what they have. I have a Golden Eagle in my garage I have been shooting but I am borrowing it. Hopefully I can find something that fits me.

·
Registered
659 Posts