New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,593 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this has nothing to do with hunting but, how many people on here that went to college actually went into a field their degree is in? I went to NJIT for computer engineering and I am an estimator / project manager for a commercial construction company. Why I have no idea.

Dennis

·
Registered
5,232 Posts
I did. But always remember, college is something you have to do to get the job. All I learned in college helped me in about 20% of my job. Just the basics. The rest was learned on the job. But, without the degree, you dont even get an interview. Its just paying your dues so to speak.

And expensive dues it its... [smirk]

·
Premium Member
13,661 Posts
I am in my field (computer science)... college improved my reading, writing, and presentations skills...thats about it.

I learned more during my first year on the job than in college.

Somehow I managed to avoid the liberal brain washing too. [smirk]

·
Registered
2,574 Posts
I am close, my degree is in Molecular Biology, and I work as a formulations chemist.

-dan

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
I learned the proper procedure for keg tapping and then I got kicked out:p

·
Registered
1,494 Posts
I have a degree in Civil Engineering from NJIT, and I now work as a project manager / estimator for a construction management company. All I know is that college will never teach you what you learn and experience in the field, but it will help you land a better job in some cases.

·
Registered
5,451 Posts
College just got me in the door. From there it was all on the job that got me where I am today. I have 12 years of IT exp and 2 years college. To be honest with you I love the money in IT but would much rather be doing Plumbing and Heating. [up][smirk]

·
Registered
942 Posts