New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
396 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I do not currently own a rifle. My hope is to hunt out of state in the future, NY, ME, PA. I know it is personal preference, however, I have limited experience with rifles other than AR / M4 type rifles. Not sure if a lever action, bolt or pump is the way to go. Would like to hear some of your guys thoughts that hunt out of state.

·
Registered
5,415 Posts
i love to carry my .300wsm Savage stainless/synthetic.

didn't cost a lot. as a couple Savage lines are very reasonable.
very accurate.
versatile round. deer to moose.

·
Registered
2,237 Posts
You are going to get an awful lot of opinions on this so I'll throw mine in too. Assuming cost is somewhat of a concern, a Tikka T3 Stainless in 30-06 would be high on my list for an all around rifle. Browning BLR in 358 Win would be really nice as well.

I

·
Registered
538 Posts
Stay away from 30-06 and Remington 760 or 7600 Gamemaster pumps. You need a bolt action in 270 Win. Preferably a Winchester New Haven Model 70.

·
Registered
2,237 Posts
Preferably a Winchester New Haven
Any reason you specifically like the New Haven models? I've read a lot of reviews and that said the ones made by FN in South Carolina were the best models. Many say they even compare favorably to the pre-64 models.

·
Registered
3,536 Posts
Unless your going to hunt fields 150 + yard shots, Why not use a Shot gun with rifled barrel and scope like you would do in NJ, most decent ones, offhand, will shoot just as good as a rifle out to that distance. That what I use in woods in NY and PA as I don't hunt fields in either state. If you MUST have a rifle, My recommendation would be the 7MM mag in Bolt action.
Remember, at least I think, a few states do not allow auto loaders for hunting.

·
Registered
538 Posts