New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the chatham/madison area. After doing some research, I decided to try my luck at fishing the Passaic River County Park.

I parked in the parking lot off river road. I threw live bait in the morning, then switched to some lures and did not even get a bite.

I bought the live bait from Dicks Sporting goods on RT. 10, and the guy there told me he pulled a 16 pound pike (i think he said pike), from the same river.

My question is, where should I be concentrating my effort on in this river. And if anyone has ever fished there, where did you go and park, and what did you fish with that was successfull.

This is obviously a huge river, so maybe getting it at a different point may be more worth it. Any help would be apprecaited. I am also always looking for other places in the area to fish. Thanks everybody!

·
Registered
2,267 Posts
dawgs47,Chatham is to far upstream for the pike.Most of the big pike are caught in the LittleFalls section and downstream from there.Guys I know that fish there also catch smallmouth,largemouth,crappy,catfish,eel,carp,and bluegills.I have friends who also shot shad in the river while bowfishing for carp.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks everyone for the quick and useful replies. I will try to get over to the little Falls area (its actually right near where I work). Does anyone have idea's for bait or lures?

·
Registered
2,267 Posts
d47,my friends had good luck with shiners.Im sure you will get more responses to this during the week.Good luck and let us know how you did.[up]

·
Registered
612 Posts