New Jersey Hunters banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all,

I'm looking for some advice on buckshot and choke combo's. I'm very new to hunting, my first hunt will be for spring turkey and I've successfully patterned using a Carlson's extended range turkey choke with Winchester XR 3 inch no. 5

Where I'm having trouble is on patterning buckshot. I've shot both 00 Herter's and 000 Federal using the improved cylinder. At an estimated 20 up to 35 yards I maybe get 3-4 shots in the heart and or lung area with the rest either landing a little further back on the target, in the leg, or off the target.

I spoke with a rep from Browning and their advice was to use either an improved cylinder or a cylinder and not a full choke.

I've been looking at and thinking of taking a chance on the Carlson's Buckshot Choke as a solid number of the reviews are positive. My only concern the diameter is .710 which looks to measure the same as a full choke. An improved cylinder measures .730 and the cylinder measures .740

I would be using this for deer hunting during the 6 day firearm season.

Thank you for any advice in advance!

·
Registered
9,637 Posts
Greetings all,

I'm looking for some advice on buckshot and choke combo's. I'm very new to hunting, my first hunt will be for spring turkey and I've successfully patterned using a Carlson's extended range turkey choke with Winchester XR 3 inch no. 5

Where I'm having trouble is on patterning buckshot. I've shot both 00 Herter's and 000 Federal using the improved cylinder. At an estimated 20 up to 35 yards I maybe get 3-4 shots in the heart and or lung area with the rest either landing a little further back on the target, in the leg, or off the target.

I spoke with a rep from Browning and their advice was to use either an improved cylinder or a cylinder and not a full choke.