New Jersey Hunters banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know it's too late for this year. --I should mention this is my first year hunting bear, and I'm on my own)...but I have been setting up this spot (clearing shooting lanes, baiting, etc) on public land for many months. Had bear there every darn day right up until 6-day...now my cams are only catching them there after dark, or before legal shooting time in AM -like 2-3am....any advice for next year? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks..I'm just so frustrated. I put in A LOT of time, energy, and money into this site...only to have them stop coming THE DAY six-day begins...so I sit in my stand each day for 13 hours, hear shots in the distance, and can't help but think someone else got my bears...then I get confirmation on cam that at least 1 is still around....but only comes between 10pm and 3am. uugghh. trying to figure it all out. Even tried going to track it down, but lost the tracks after about 200yds. don't know what else to do, short of wrapping my entire body in bacon and walking through the woods. lol

·
Registered
4,502 Posts
Welcome to the club. This is my 4th year bear hunting here and no bear... yet. This year I still have bears coming in during the night, which is the closest I've ever come. But I'm not giving up yet. 2 more days, and lots of tricks to try.

·
Registered
11,803 Posts
From what I have been learning, bears like cover, water, feeling secure and the smell of bacon burning in the woods. I can honestly say that I have learned more this year than in all years past combined. Don't give up yet . . .

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·