Bedding Areas

Thread: Bedding Areas

Member #
    2nd year hunting, can never find a nice buck's bedding area. How do you find their bedding areas i have no knowledge when it comes to bucks bedding.. I know a group of does bed behind my house in this rocky area with little patches of grass. Do bucks like ridges? brush? hilltops? Any advice or experience you'v had with finding bedding areas. It would be very helpful, thanks

Member #
    The biggest bucks I've ever seen excluding the rut have been in dark, swampy, thick cover. I found giant rubs in another swamp area that was very difficult to get into. A large mature buck will stay very close to his "core" area until the rut. He will return to this area again after the rut. The most important thing you can do in my opinion, is to learn the entire area you will be hunting. Get topo maps, aerial maps, and wear out them boots!

Member #
    the land i hunt is so confusing, it'l be a sawmp one minute then a mountain, then a ridge, river, then a funnel, then just normal woods. Its so big that i dont know where to go or where to look..

today i walked a crap load and saw nothing, walked a couple ridges, hill tops, the mountain, normal woods, swamp. Ehhh

4. Remove Advertisements
    NewJerseyHunter.com
    Advertisements

Member #
    If you are scouting and you find a spot and say to yourself "How the hell am i gonna get in there?" its probably a bedding area. Thick nasty stuff, briars, mountain laurels, tall grass, etc....I have also found some beds after a snowfall, whether it was a buck or doe im not sure. But if you see an area void of snow that looks like the size of a deer laying down, it could be a bedding area. I dont have enough property to find definite bedding areas but i have stumbled across a few while scouting....Good Luck

Member #
    I always go out every winter and check the deer runs in the snow to find out what the deer are doing.