Newbie here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: Newbie here

Member #

Newbie here

Feel pretty lucky in finding this forum, from the posts I've read seems like a good crowd on here.
    Well, here's my problem. Never hunted a day in my life. Always wanted to, just never had anyone to show me the ropes. No hunters in my circle and guys at work mostly hunt private land and from what it sounds like they just set up at the edge of farmers fields and blast away as they come to feed. Finally decided to step out on my own bow hunting. Trying to get my license (all the testing dates have been full), but if I don't get it by this season, I still would like to learn to scout for future reference, maybe hit winter bow season if I can get it by then... this is by no means anything I'm looking to rush.

I live in Winslow right off Blue Anchor Rd., WMA is directly across the street from me, Zone 65. Does anyone hunt this area? I know the bulk of the WMA is south of the expressway, I live on the North side which is a much smaller tract of land. I've seen numerous deer tracks along trails and roadways (I'm back there often running/hiking etc.) and walked up on a few the other day not far from one of the main trails. If there's anyone from the area looking to mentor a newbie I'm all about it. I guess Im really just looking for someone to teach basic scouting and what to look for. I can only learn so much from youtube and google. Had a friend of the family willing to take me out, but he lives quite a distance away, works like mad and I know what time he has in his woods are precious to him. Was hoping I could meet someone local and familiar with this area.
    Thanks!

Member #
    Very nice way of asking. I live way North so can't help you. I am sure someone from this site lives down your way and can give you a hand. Welcome to the site.

Member #