Winter Dog House
    Member #

Winter Dog House

My daughter's dog is temporarily living in my back yard. This temporary arrangement may be a while. I'm not a dog guy. I never planned to have a dog but I do. He's quite content on the long cable run I put up for him and the doghouse my daughter brought when she dropped him off. But winter's coming.

I'm probably going to get bashed for not letting her dog live in my house but as I mentioned, I'm not a dog guy. He's going to live outside if he's here.

But, I don't want the dog to suffer. I plan to build him a suitable house for the winter but I'm not sure how to do that. I'm a pretty good carpenter so building the house isn't the problem. I haven't figured out how to give him a warm house that will keep out the drafts but let him come and go easily.

I can insulate the walls. I can even add some sort of heat if needed. The biggest problem I'm having is coming up with a door arrangement that will do a good job of staying closed, even on windy nights.

If any one here has built something that works or seen something that works, please share.

Thanks.
    -Ryan

Member #
    Just google Insulated Dog Houses. Tons of info available.

Member #
    How big is the dog, what breed?

I may be able to help you out.

4. Remove Advertisements
    NewJerseyHunter.com
    Advertisements

Member #
    Go on www.gundogsupply.com search heater many options available for around $100

Member #
    Good luck
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Herd Buck; 09-25-2018 at 09:14 PM.

Member #
    I have an older K-9 Condo in great shape that is insulated, has the swinging door and an electric heater that you can have for free as well. It should be big enough for up to about an 80 pound dog. Let me know if you're interested.

Member #
    You have been given some excellent options.