Im considering a .22 rifle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Im considering a .22 rifle

Member #

Im considering a .22 rifle

Has the post says I'm considering a .22 rifle but I'm unsure of a bolt/single shot or lever action. What would be the merits of either of these especially on a trap line has this is my first time trapping. I am familiar with all the actions and partial to bolt action. Do you have any models or manufacturers that you suggest or you warn against. Henry and Marlin and Winchester are 3 manufacturers I am currently looking at but open to other suggestions . Thank you for all replies.

Member #
    some random thoughts:
    • THE standard American .22 rifle is the Ruger 10/22. Everybody owns one and there are hundreds of aftermarket accessories. Probably the most popular .22 in America.
    • Savage has a reputation for exceptionally accurate rifles at a reasonable cost. I own a couple of Savage bolt actions in calibers other than .22 and have always been pleased with them.
    • I prefer semi-autos over bolts, levers, or single shot. In a .22 semi-autos are reasonably priced.
    • Levers are more expensive. Very nice, but expensive.
    • Bolt actions are available for a low price at good quality but I still prefer semi-autos. I like bolt actions for guns where accuracy counts. The effective range of .22s is so limited that accuracy isn't the most important factor to me.
    • All of the major manufacturers make pretty good stuff. I would be comfortable with any of the manufacturer's you mentioned.
    ottercreeks likes this.
    -Ryan

Member #
    If you want a really nice .22 for a reasonable price get yourself a Henry. I own over 20 .22’s and my very favorite is my Henry. Nice and short. Easy to carry. Fun and very accurate to shoot. You will not be sorry.
    mightyhunter and Marine1 like this.
    NRA Life Member
    FoxPro Staff
    Crimson Talon Broadheads Staff
    Black Widow Deer Lures Staff
    Liquid Ghost Staff