New Jersey Hunters banner

mostly white skunk. help needed

12K views 60 replies 30 participants last post by  kriegerj89 
#1 ·
Badger Fictional character Tail
Wildlife Adaptation Grass Plant
taking my course this year and want to catch this guy and get it tanned. any tips on getting this guy without getting sprayed or having him spray everywhere while in a snare? Im gonna send it to snare one to get done. Do they do good work?

See less See more
#3 ·
Leave him alone, why would you want to kill an unusual animal that is not causing any harm.

#13 · (Edited)
I do hunt, fish and trap, I eat what I hunt and fish and trap with a license to sell the fur, An almost white skunk is very unusual if you have a trapping license and are taking it for the fur go for it.

#9 ·
The gland is not an air bag or something, don't think there will be any pressure involved. I've head shot skunks before and not had them spray. IMO taking them by surprise or while relaxed is key. I am by no means an expert and have never skinned one so I'd wait for some more experienced guys to respond.

#12 · (Edited)
I am sorry I did not see the rest of your post at the bottom of the second picture and did not realize you wanted to trap it for the skin, as long as it is done legally I am OK with that I thought you where just getting rid of it because it was in your corn.

#15 ·
had a skunk in the yard a few years ago. It was daylight and it wasnt acting right. After a few hrs the Mrs called animal control. the guy walked right up to it, threw a towel over it and picked it up and put it in a bucket, slapped a lid with holes on top and walked away. it was done in minutes. If I had to do it now, I would probably get one of those cheap tyvek jumpsuits and a face shield and dive in. if he sprays, shed the outer layer as soon as possible and hope for the least damage possible

#16 · (Edited)
If you have no clue what you are doing if/when you get licensed, get help for the following reasons: