New Jersey Hunters banner

Welcome to the site! Please post an introduction thread.

154K views 484 replies 383 participants last post by  longbow 
#1 ·
NewJerseyHunter.com is a friendly community dedicated to New Jersey Hunting.

Our goal is to be the place to go to for everything New Jersey hunting.

To keep the place friendly, we ask that every new member post up an introduction thread letting us know a little bit about themselves.

Please help us keep this site friendly and informative! Thanks in advance. :)

#2 ·
I'm a recently retired lifelong resident of NJ and I have been shooting since I was a kid in the Boy Scouts. In the Scouts, we would shoot 'clay pidgeons' using .22 birdshot...it was very hard to hit anything, though. We would also take our .22's out in the woods and 'plink' cans and bottles. No one thought anything of it...some days we would go bowling or shoot baskets...some days we would go shooting in the woods. Shooting was viewed like any other sport. A kid usually got his first .22 at around 12 years old and most kids in our neighborhood had BB guns or Pellet Guns before that. I mean, for God's sake, our parents bought them for us and we walked around the neighborhood with them! One of the neighborhood kid's father was a cop and he never gave it a thought that we (including his son)had .22's, BB Guns and Pellet Guns...when did this country start losing its collective mind about guns!? We had a blast with our guns (pun intended)! I now live in one of the wooded areas where I used to shoot my .22. The area was all woods back then and people would go deer hunting there. There were still some ancient deer stands in the woods when my wife and I went to choose our building lot more than 20 years ago. Well, I'm glad that I lived during the time that I did. It was wonderful growing up in the 50's and early 60's...none of this 'PC' crap. What a great time...freedom meant everything to Americans and the Constitution and the Bill-of-Rights ruled the day. N