NewJerseyHunter.com is the premier Hunting Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Member #
    I'm very new to all of this so please forgive any ignorance/cluelessness. So my grandfather is a retired police officer (been retired for 15+ years) and no longer wants his guns (3 handguns and a rifle). He says he doesn't have any paperwork for them nor does he have any type of permit/ID for them since they were all obtained when he was an officer.

From what I've been reading, it seems like I will definitely need to get an FID to take ownership of the guns, is that correct? Will I need a special permit for the handguns? Also, what does he (my grandfather) need to do since he doesn't have any FID or paperwork on the guns?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Monster Buck
    Sponsors
    Member #
    you will need an FID card and two pistol permits. Aply for both at the same time with the police dept. in which you live.. You may be able to get a multiple handgun exectption becuase of the circumstance. The transactions may be private.

Member #
    The only way you can legally own them is with FID and pistol permits unless they are willed to you.
    HONOR THE FALLEN
    http://www.militarycity.com/valor/honor.html

Over the years the United States has sent many of its fine young men & women into great peril to fight for freedom beyond our borders. The only amount of land we have ever asked for in return, is enough to bury those that did not return. COLIN POWELL

Rack Buck
    Sponsors
    Member #
    I think swampbuck meant 3 pistol permits. (I don't mean to be making trivial corrections I just didn't want you to apply for 2 then have to wait another 30-365+ days for the third.)

I do not believe your dad will need anything, it sounds like he purchased the guns prior to NJ's current laws. (don't take my word on this it is not legal advise and I recommend discussing with an attorney)